How I start my first day MEDITATION | 15 Days Challenge

Kosal Ley
3 min readApr 9, 2018

--

This is about my 15-day meditation challenge to myself which I will make a commitment to meditate 2 hours every day, and the story will start here, Follow me if you will like to learn with me or challenge me.

Meditation Technique

This is called the Middle Way Meditation Technique which is the technique that the Buddha discovered on the last day before his Enlightenment. so how the technique is used? I will tell you in 3 ways:

1. rest mind at the center of the body and make no judgment or emotional response to whatever you experience.
2. apply the first technique and then visualize something, this has to be the image that you familiar with and neutral to the emotions. For example something like the brightness object, clear object, or natural.
3. If the second technique doesn’t work for you as you are not a good visualizer like me, apply the first technique then try to use the mantra, like “Samma-Arahang” means Be free and pure. You will always apply the first technique the whole time throughout the other two technique.

That’s all for the technique. I will make another post for just meditation technique for you later in my next post but for now, I will just talk about my meditation experience on my first day.

My actual experiences

Since there are so many benefits of meditation and meditation nowadays is quite popular not just here in Asia but also around the world. Especially, more than 60% American now practicing meditation and even the business people and movie stars doing meditation. So I would like to put myself to in this challenge and tell you what happens to me during this challenge. Here are the things happened to me on my first day.

Following the technique I was describing above, I found myself distracting with all kind of thoughts and senses through my body. By applying the first technique, my body starts to relax and calm but occasionally thoughts arrived and pull me out from what I am focusing. Then I apply the second technique, this helps me to quiet some thoughts and eventually I am in the realm of quietness, lonely and dark. this happened in very quick at a sudden there was brightness, something so bright that was like someone opens the door to let the light come through to the darkest room. Until finally, my back was cracking, my legs get pain and no feeling. and the clock is up.

This I can tell you that feeling in the quietness is was a mazing and beyond that, I was falling into this visual world of light and darkness, it was indescribable and you have to try it to learn.

7-Day Meditation Retreat at Pai, Mae Hongson — Thailand

3-Day Meditation Retreat at POP House, Bangkok — Thailand

--

--

Kosal Ley

I am a FREE hand Writer. I am more into Tech, Spiritual and Finance